Posted by in News.

The Saolta Hospitals Group has appointed a new board after remaining without one for a full year.

The new board consists of 12 members – five women and seven men.

The hospitals’ group board is responsible for developing effective corporate and clinical governance structures along with quality and safety systems for patient care.

It also works to manage resources in terms of finances and staffing.

Among the members of the new Saolta board are outgoing NUI Galway president Dr Jim Browne, Claregalway GP Dr Brendan Day and businesswoman Phyllis MacNamara.

They’re joined by Dr Aislinne Freeman, Brian Thornton, Darina Kneafesy, Dariona Conlon, Gerry McManus, Dr John Morris, Mary Dunne and Tom Canavan.

The Saolta hospitals group manages the acute hospitals across Galway, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo and Donegal.