Posted by in Sport.

Coiste Chontae Peil na Gaillimhe, De Sathairn 14ú Bealtaine 2011

Galway County Senior Football Championship—First Round: Claregalway v St. James at Pearse Stadium, Saturday next at 5pm (Reiteoir: S Ó hEithir).

North Board U21A Football Championship Semi-Final

Claregalway 0–12
Tuam Stars 0–9

U21s did the Club proud by winning this North Board A Championship semi-final after an exciting finish at Tuam Stadium on Sunday. The day was characterised by a gale force wind blowing directly downfield into the town end. So, at the start the toss for sides was a big issue. Tuam won the toss and decided to play with the gale. This is often the right thing to do, seize the advantages from the throw-in and establish a good lead in the first
half. It forces the opposition to struggle against the elements for thirty minutes, a tiresome task followed by the task of wiping out the arrears in the second half. It didn’t work out on this occasion for Tuam because of Claregalway’s work rate as a team in dealing with the elements, finishing the half strongly and holding Tuam to a half-time deficit of only four points, 0–3 to 0-7.

Danny Cummins, recent All-Ireland Football winner with the Galway U21s and whose skills were very evident on the day, scored all three. Claregalway had a bit of luck fifteen minutes in when a rasping shot by Tuam looked goal bound but it hit the cross-bar and went over for their sixth point. Eoin Clarke dealt very well with his kick-outs, the backs defended their lines and covered off well especially Michael Evans, Michael Brennan and Hubert Newall while Conor Costelloe commanded the no.6 position, pressurising Tuam by running at them from half back.

On the resumption, Tuam were first to score but Claregalway soon got to grips with the demands of the occasion and the Hansberry brothers, David and Kenneth, got on top at mid-field. Points by Danny Cummins (3), sub. Colm Brennan, Sean Moran and another from Danny levelled the scores at 0–9 each five minutes from time. Play swung from end to end and it looked for a moment or two that the game would go to extra time. But Claregalway sensed that victory was there to be grabbed and in a strong finish, sub. John Evans with a marvellous effort, David Hansberry with a 60-yard free from the hands and Danny Cummins sent over a point each without reply to clinch the result. Claregalway’s all-round work rate was a feature of their display. They will play Corofin in the final.

Team: Eoin Clarke, Keith McDermott, Michael Evans, Michael Brennan, Hubert Newall, Conor Costelloe, Colm O’Hagan, David Hansberry (0–1), Kenneth Hansberry, Sean Moran (0–1), Danny Cummins (0–8), Peter Divilly, Mathew Moran, Michael Noonan, Gerry Cheevers. Subs: Colm Brennan (0–1), John Evans (0–1), Robert Moran, Michael Martin Coyle, Shane Divilly, Diarmuid Gavin, Ciaran Harte, Eamon Loughlin, Donal Conroy, Emmett Feeney, Ryan Harrington.

Golf Fundraiser

The Club is holding a fundraising Golf am at Cregmore Golf Club on Friday and Saturday June 3rd and 4th to raise funds for the Senior Club. For Tee times and Sponsorship, please contact Mary 087 7999379 or Jimmy 087 7994460. We are asking all members who play golf to join in and support this event.


Numbers this week: 12 22 23 25.

There was no Jackpot or Match Three winner. Five lucky dips for €20 went to Carmel Grealish Lydican, Kenneth King c/o Tony King, John Commins Kiniska, Teresa McTiernan Castlelambert, Mary O’Connell Claregalway. Weekly sellers prize went to Brian McKeon. The Jackpot is now €2346 and the next draw is in Grealish’s on the 16th May 16th.