Claregalway Tidy Towns committee is made up of a group of local volunteers whose mission is to keep Claregalway tidy and beautiful. Each year it is completed throughout the year with the help of additional volunteer locals and wonderful and dedicated work the Claregalway Annaghdown CE Scheme participants.
On this page, you will see what projects we are currently working on, news, event calendar and what we have planned and some of our finished projects.
The Forge belonged to Blacksmith Michael Smyth’s. It dates back to the early 1800’s. At least 5 generations of his family have worked at the forge. Michael worked in the forge till 1997. In 2007, it was restored by the Claregalway Historical and Cultural Society. The Museum next door was opened in 2014. The Museum is a step back in time, with carpentry tools, farm equipment, pictures, documents and artifacts from the people of the parish.
Carpenters section with a large variety of the carpenter’s old-style manual tools. Carpenters and blacksmiths were valued craftsmen in the local community and worked closely together.
Various traditional farming equipment, such as mowing machines, ploughs, potato diggers and so on. Old household items: traditional ‘crane’ to support hanging ovens for cooking over an open hearth fire Musical equipment from the old Claregalway Fife and Drum Band (founded in 1909) Many old photographs and various documents.
Open Wednesday to Saturday, 10am to 4pm. All year round. Admission of €5 per person (adult)
Historical Website: claregalway.galwaycommunityheritage.org
Claregalway is a rural parish rich in history and tradition. In 1991, the Claregalway Historical & Cultural Society was founded. The group aimed to collect the local history and publish a book from the information gathered. The group initiated a FÁS sponsored scheme which began the enormous task of documenting the local history. In 1999 produced a 300 page hardback book. It sold in excess of 2000 copies, and has since been reprinted. Contact: Seamus O’ Connell on 091 798 245.