Posted by in News.

The AGM of 1998 Drama Festival Committee was held recently following a very successful programme of plays. As usual a number of Groups competed in the All Ireland Finals in Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford for the confined competition and in Athlone for the Open competition.

Two groups who contended in the Confined competition—Ennis players Equus by Paul Shaffer and Nenagh Players with Flight to Grosse Ile by Jim Minogue won the All Ireland Confined competition and secured a place at the All Ireland Open competition in Athlone. It was most satisfying to have 3 of the Groups who came to Claregalway in the All-Ireland Open competition and especially so since the Groups who were placed 1st, 2nd in our Festival came 1st and 2nd in the All-Ireland Open Final held in Athlone last month. They were Corn Mill Theatre Group, Carrigallen, with Belfry by Billy Roche and Coolera Dramatic Society with The Steward of Christendom by Sebastian Barry.

Standards were extremely high and augurs well for the future of the Festival. The Festival has been held annually since 1982 and the Committee elected the following Officers for the coming year:

  • Festival Director Hugh Farrell
  • Festival Secretary Mary Kelly
  • Recording Secretary Helen Cahalan
  • Treasurer John Brennan

The Committee is anxious to have new members join and anyone interested in doing so should contact the Officers mentioned above, or any Committee member.