Posted by Seán Kyne TD in News.

€2.32 million is to be shared by 49 sports clubs and organisations across Galway in the third round of Sports Capital Programme.

Fine Gael TD for Galway West and Mayo South Seán Kyne has today (Thursday) welcomed the allocation of €2.32 million to 49 sports organisations and clubs across Galway.

Today’s funding brings to €5.85 million in total funding for 117 sports clubs and organisations across Galway under this Government’s Sports Capital Programme.

Commented Galway West and Mayo South Fine Gael TD, Seán Kyne: “I am delighted with today’s announcement by Sports’ Minister Michael Ring of €2.32 million in sports capital grants for Galway under the third round of this Sports Capital Programme.

“Forty-nine groups and organisations will receive over €2.3 million which will go a long way towards improving facilities, buying new equipment and constructing new infrastructure.

“The funding is firmly rooted in the helping to realise the benefits which local sporting facilities bring to communities. By placing a limit on the maximum amount available in any one grant the Minister has ensured that as many organisations, and in turn communities, will benefit from this round of Sports Capital funding.

“The results of the Health Ireland Survey 2015 commissioned by the Department of Health and released this week show that obesity rates have fallen slightly. Sports clubs and organisation play a hugely important role in promoting physical activity and healthier lifestyles.

“The Sports’ Capital Programme funding is vital and will help clubs and organisations in Galway and the West improve facilities and build on the important role they play in our communities,” concluded Deputy Kyne.

Sports Capital Funding 2015

Ardrahan GAA—Cumann na Mhuire Ard Rathain: €95,000
Ballinasloe Rugby Club: €95,000
Ballinasloe Town AFC: €50,000
Barna GAA: €60,000
Beagh Hurling & GAA Club: €95,000
Bearna na Forbacha Aontaithe: €110,000
Claregalway Handball Club: €95,000
Clifden Boat Club: €24,000
Colga FC: €95,000
Comharchumann Bearna Teoranta: €20,000
Connemara RFC: €10,000
Craughwell Athletic Club: €100,000
Cregmore Claregalway Football Club Ltd: €30,000
Cumann Dún Mhór Mhil Éil / Dunmore MacHales GAA Club: €70,000
Friends of St Josephs Rowing Club: €10,000
Galway Bay Sailing Club Ltd: €42,000
Galway City Council—Westpark (Melody’s Field): €55,000
Galway Climbing Cooperative: €1,500
Galway Hibernians: €7,000
Galway Kayak Club: €18,000
Galway Lawn Tennis / Sports Club Ltd: €110,000
Galway Speeders: €14,000
Gort Community Council Ltd: €82,000
Headford GAA Club: €80,000
Kilconly Community Recreation Group: €78,000

Killererin GAA Club: €46,000
Killimor Gaa Club: €68,000
Killimordaly GAA Club: €40,000
Kiltormer Gaa Club: €77,000
Kinvara United FC: €12,000
Leenane Development Association Ltd: €5,000
Leitrim Sports and Recreational Development Group: €13,000
Liam Mellows GAA Club: €72,000
Loughrea Boxing Club: €2,500
Monivea/Abbey GAA Football Club: €50,000
Mountbellew-Moylough GAA Club: €65,000
Moyne Villa FC: €38,000
Naomh Feichin GAA Club Clifden: €6,000
Oranmore Park Committee: €47,000
Renmore Judo Club: €4,000
Salthill Handball & Racquetball Club: €8,000
Skehana Community Development: €67,000
St Bernards United Soccer Club: €17,000
St Brendan’s Hurling Club: €72,000
Titans Basketball Club: €12,000
Tobar Pheadair Boxing Club: €20,000
Tribesmen Rowing Club: €31,045
Tuam Camogie Club: €6,000
Tuam Stars GAA Club: €95,000

Total: €2,320,045