Posted by in Sport.

Minors Win League Final

Claregalway 2–11
Ml.Breathnach 1–8

In an exciting final at Oughterard on Wednesday May 14th our minors beat Ml.Breathnach by 2–11 to 1–8. In doing so, we recorded our first success at this level since we won the ‘B’ league and championship double in 1991. The 6 point margin does not reflect the closeness of the exchanges throughout because this game was in the balance from an early stage and it was only in the last 5 minutes or so that a win looked likely. Although we were first to score with a point, Ml.Breathnach responded with 1–1 and from there on, both sides traded scores to set the pattern for the game. Scores were level on a number of occasions and we held a 1–4 to 1–3 lead at half time. Eventually we established a 3 point lead with 10 minutes to go. But, Ml.Breathnach continued to attack and it was only when Gary Hurney scored his second goal near the end that the result was put beyond doubt.

Damien Noonan who was selected at full back in place of the injured Patrick Stephens settled down to give a good second half display and he got good support from Comán Duke Farrell and Derek Murphy. Up front, Derek Murray’s tally of 7 points both from play and from frees deserves special praise. The Imperial Hotel Perpetual cup was presented to team captain Anthony Monaghan by Paddy Sweeny, Chairman, West G.P.C. and the team panel returned for reception and refreshments arranged by Sean Dunleavy, Nine Arches.

Team: Ronan McGrath, Comán Duke Farrell, Damien Noonan, Derek Murphy, Robert Lennon, Kenny Watson, Eoin Hynes, Anthony Monaghan (0–2), Keith Holland, Adrian Moran (0–1), Jude Ainsworth (0–1), Derek Murray (0–7), Paul Kenny, Enda O’Connell, Gary Hurney (2–0). Subs: Patrick Walsh, Nicholas Fox, John Flanagan, Joseph Noone, Simon Kilgannon, Liam Hyland, Damien Stephens.

Team Manager: Fergus Madden, to whom the club is indebted for his work with the team.


Co. Minors: It was a unique distinction for Claregalway G.A.A. to have 4 club minors on the co.Galway team that played Mayo in the Connacht championship at Castlebar – Patrick Stephens, Anthony Monaghan, Derek Murray and sub Kenny Watson.

Co. U16 Challenge

Galway City 3–12
Sligo 2–7

In preparation for the Inter-county Ted Webb Cup competition, Galway City U16 footballers beat Sligo in a challenge match at the Leisure Centre on May 30th last. Several Claregalway players are on the panel—Damien Noonan, Nicholas Fox, Enda O’Connell, Robert Lennon, Anthony Davoren, Paul Kilgannon, John P. O’Connell.


U16s in League Semi-final Although fielding a depleted team when beaten by St.Michael’s at Westside in the last round of the league, Claregalway had already qualified for the knock-out stages. Claregalway play Oranmore/Maree in the semi-final.


U14s: In the league Claregalway lost to both Spiddal and Oranmore/Maree and had a good win over Mervue which could put us in a play off.


U12s: The league starts on Sunday September 7th when we play Moycullen away. Meanwhile, we travelled to play Fr.Griffins recently and gave a very encouraging display. Gerry Giles in goal, Michael O’Connor, Rory Dillon and Trevor Casserly in the backs, Phillip Raftery and Paul Loughlin at mid field, Ronan Mangan, Niall Gibbons in the forwards were especially prominent.


Galway V Mayo: The Juvenile Football committee organised bus transport for the U14 and U12 team panels to go and see the big match. Fifth players travelled and were accompanied by club mentors. Tuam Stadium, the cathedral of Galway football, was full of tension even before the throw-in and all who travelled confirmed that the outing was fully worthwhile.


U10s: Annaghdown travelled to the Leisure Centre on Sunday morning, June 1st and we played them in 2 games.

Other news

Co.Development Draw tickets are now on sale. There will be 6 major draws held once monthly for the next six months for new motor cars. £1,000 cash prizes, holidays abroad etc. The tickets cost £60 each and there are special early ‘bird prizes’ for those paying the full amount at the start. Half of the proceeds are allocated to the club and half to the Co.Board.

Our players and followers now enjoy the facilities of our new club centre, ample evidence of the use made of funds raised to date. The club wishes to develop further for the Year 2000 and beyond. We therefore appeal to all our followers to support this draw which is such a vital source of income for us. Contact Committee officers, Tom Newell, P.J.McGovern or Tony Stephens (Tel. 798217).

Connacht Council/AIB Summer Camp. In conjunction with AIB Coiste Oiliúna Gaillimhe are organising a series of Summer Camps again this year in football, hurling and camogie. Claregalway GAA pitch is the venue for football from Monday June 30th to Friday July 4th, 10am to 2.30pm each day; lunch break 12-12.30; age limit 8–14 years; fee for the week £15. The Summer Camp will be organised and supervised by a fully qualified coach who will arrange the appropriate activities. Further details at the Leisure Centre on Sunday mornings.

Sean Ó Flannagáin