Posted by in Sport.

Intermediates overcame refereeing adversity at Renmore on Monday May 1st to run out narrow winners over St.James by 1–12 to 1–10. In a hard and closely contested encounter, an early goal by Adrian Moran got Claregalway off to a good start but thereafter we were never more than a couple of points ahead. This win follows up on the second round win against Clifden at Claregalway after losing out earlier to Carna/Cashel. Future fixtures are: May 15th away to Oughterard; July 23rd at home to Salthill; September 17th at home to St. Michaels; October 1st away to Lettermore.

Congrats to Anthony Monaghan on his selection for the County U21 team that won the Connacht title against Mayo at Tuam.

Junior Bs beat Moycullen in Claregalway by 2 points on Friday April 28th.

Minors beat Salthill in the Co.League by 3–6 to 0–8 in Claregalway on April 19th. Team panel: Brian Donoghue, Robert Raftery, Andrew Flanagan, David Raftery, Michael Barry, Kieran Moran, Stephen Cunniffe, Tomas Moran, Aidan Kearney, Niall O’Shea, Martin Kelly, Brian Loughlin, Colin Deeny, Dara O’Malley, Gary Dillon, Paul Kilgannon, David Walshe, Michael Maguire, Conor Glynn, Damien Foy, Barry McGrath, Anthony Watson, Alan Greaney, Dermot Hession, Val Baynes.

Congratulations to Brian Donoghue on his selection for the Co. Minors who rounded off a good run in the Connacht League with a last minute win over Mayo at Milltown to clinch the League title.

Féile Peil na nÓg

Claregalway was one of the venues for this year’s Féile played on Saturday April 29th. On a miserably wet day, Claregalway were out of luck and Cortoon won through the group games and beat Headford in the ¼ Final. They later lost out to Killanin in the semi-final. Thanks to Hugh Farrell, Damien Stephens, Enda O’Connell, Comán Duke, Gerry Kearney and Tony Stephens for help on the day.

Sunday mornings at Claregalway Club Centre 11am–12.30pm is the place to be for all U12, U10 and U8 footballers. Each age group is coached separately. So, parents and all, come along and join in. Details from Gerry Moran (798510); Jimmy Gavin (797037); Cormac Evans (798150).

Club Officers 2000:

  • Chairman Sean Dunleavy
  • Vice-Chairman Paul Concannon
  • Hon. Secretary Kevin McNamara
  • Hon. Treasurer Robert McNamara
  • Assist. Treasurer Tom Newell
  • PRO Sean Flanagan
  • Team managers:
    Intermediate & U21 P.J.McGovern
    Juniors Michael Prendergast


Juvenile Football Committee Officers

  • Chairman Mick O’Connell
  • Vice-Chairman Cormac Evans
  • Hon. Secretary: Damien Stephens
  • Assist. Secretary: Comán Duke
  • Hon. Treasurer: Pat Coen
  • Delegates to Coiste Peil na nÓg: Tony Clarke and Padraig O’Malley
  • Team managers:
    Minors Sean Flanagan
    U16 Pat Coen
    U14 Padraig O’Connell


Sean Flanagan