Posted by in Sport.

The Claregalway Ladies began their journey to Féile at 7.45am on Friday 2nd July with a lovely prayer from Fr. Ian O’ Neill PP before embarking on the long journey to Greencastle in Tyrone where the team was being hosted by Sperrin Óg Football Club. The 1st match was against the host club and was played with a very strong breeze across the pitch. Claregalway opened up the score and stayed well ahead all through the game conceding just one goal which was the only goal conceded throughout the entire Féile Finals. The final score 8-7 to 1-2.

That evening the team travelled to Celtic Park in Derry for the Féile Peil na nÓg Parade where they joined with the U14 Claregalway Boys to represent their Club and County with great pride.

It was back to business on Saturday Morning with game two of the qualifiers when Claregalway met Clann Na Gael, the home to two of Tyrones’ finest footballers, Brian Dooher and Stephen O Neill. In this game, Claregalway came out strong winners with a scoreline of 10-4 to 0-2. In the final Group A qualifier against the Banner Ladies, Claregalway once again monopolised winning out strongly 9-9 to 0-2.

The Semi Final was played on Saturday evening against Group B Winners, Ballyboden of Dublin who were the reigning Feile Champions. Claregalway were prepared for battle and managed to keep their composure. The backs had a lot of work on their hands to prevent Ballyboden from Scoring and the final scoreline was the tightest of the competition so far Claregalway 1-3, Ballyboden 0-0.

Following an intense day of football, the girls returned to camp for an early night to prepare for the Feile Final on Sunday against St Laurences’ of Kildare. Claregalway played against the breeze in the 1st half and opened the score in the first 5 minutes. St Laurences retaliated but excellent goalkeeping from Deirdre Cullina denied them the opportunity. Just before ½ time, Claregalway half forward, Roisín Holland received a nasty hand injury which stalled the game for a short time before Roisín unfortunately had to be taken to hospital to have her injury treated. This was not before she had made a tremendous contribution to her team.

At the break, Claregalway were up 1-1 to 0-2. In the 2nd half, Claregalway came out strong scoring 2 goals in quick succession. Working hard and battling all over the field, they came out worthy winners of Feile 2010 with a final scoreline of 3-2 to 0-4. This was a case of third time luck for the Claregalway girls having played in Feile in 2007, 2009 and are now Feile Champions.

The Panel were: Deirdre Cullina, Megan Glynn, Ciara burke, Ruth Horkan, Rachel Fahy, Eimilie Gavin, Karen dowd, Siobhan Gavin, Lorna Hannon, Ciara Campbell, Ciara Cummins, Roisin Holland, Anna Goldrick(Capt), Niamh Fahy, Emma Connell, Louise Brennan, Emily Keane, Orla Murphy, Natasha Hynes, Caoimhe Connaughton, Rachel O Brien, Ellie Glynn, Shauna Hurney, Samantha Burke, Cliona Lynskey, Karen Healy, Morgen Conroy Broderick, Jenny Carberry, Rionna Greally, Shauna King.

Managers: Jimmy Gavin and Joan Gavin.

Mentors: Darragh Leonard, Tim Hynes and Mike Brennan.

First aiders: Siobhan Lynskey, Elaine Goldrick and Rita Healy

Much thanks to Mary Conlon Club Secretary, Pairic Keane, Treasurer and Gerry Moran, Ladies Club Chairman.

Last but not least, the Club is hugely indebted once again to our main sponsors Hughes supervalu for the Jerseys and tracksuits and a huge thank you to the Claregalway Hotel for the fabulous Welcome Home reception on Sunday Night.

Above is the winning panel:

L – R Far Back: Joe Glynn, Elaine Goldrick, Mike Brennan

L – R Middle: Tim Hynes, Rita Healy, Joan Gavin, Lorna Hannon, Rachel O Brien, Rachel Fahy, Samantha Burke, Emily Keane, Cliona Lynskey, Louise Brennan, Deirdre Cullina, Karen Healy, Caoimhe Connaughton, Ruth Horkan, Karen Dowd, Siobhan Gavin, Megan Glynn, Darragh Leonard, Jimmy Gavin,

Front L – R: Shauna King, Ciara Cummins, Emma Connell, Ellie Glynn, Ciara Burke, Natasha Hynes, Anna Goldrick, Orla Murphy, Emilie Gavin, Niamh Fahy, Ciara Campbell, Shauna Hurney, Morgen Conroy Broderick

Missing from photo: Roisin Holland