Posted by in Sport.

Club Registration Night will be held in the Clubhouse on this Thursday (24th) from 6–9pm. It is essential that all adult, underage, juvenile and ladies footballers be officially registered before they can play with the Club. We ask members who have friends or know of newcomers to the area and would like to know more about our Club or play football, to encourage them to come on Thursday or contact our Registrar Jimmy Moran 087 2568227.

A club function where extra chairs have to be fetched to meet the demand speaks for itself and so it was a full house for our Dinner Dance in the Claregalway Hotel on Saturday last. Our Special Guests were: Pat Naughton, President of Connacht GAA Council and his wife Ann; Michael Monaghan Co Board Secretary and Margaret; Con Moynihan, chairman of the Ladies Football Co Board, Mary Hernon, Co Board secretary, Fr Seamus Nohilly, SMA House, Claregalway and Club Sponsors George and Mary Glynn of Glynns Fruit & Veg, Paul Glynn, Claregalway Hotel and Jimmy Hughes of Hughes Supervalu.The festive mood that prevailed throughout the occasion was enhanced further by the rounds of applause that greeted the members selected for the Awards.

Pat Naughton presented the Distinguished Services Award to Martin (Mansie) Hanley; Club chairman Tony Clarke made the following presentations: Club Person of the Year, John Feeney;Junior Ladies Player of the Year, Lisa Kirwan; Senior Player of the Year, Brian O’Donoghue; Junior Player of the Year, Keith McDermott; Young Player of the Year, Peter Divilly.

Con Moynihan presented the medals to the folowing teams and managers:

2010 Ladies Junior A Team: Siobhan Cullen, Kathryn Casserly, Lisa Kirwan, Maria Moran, Roisin Gavin, Amy Rohan, Ciara Newell, Emer O’Connell, Hannah Coen, Deirdre Brennan, Helen Moran, Charlotte Cooney, Lauren Murray, Mairead Linnane, Fabienne Cooney, Georgina Healy, Nicola Conlon, Orla Dixon, Tara Hession, Aislin Newell, Sinead Harte, Loraine Keane, Siofra Leonard, Michelle Dunleavy, Emily Gavin, Jennifer Dowd, Linda O’Connell.

Team manager Barry Cooney also managed the Minor Ladies who the County Championship and tributes were conveyed to Mick O’Connell and Mike Kirwan who provided the highly valued back-up.

Ladies Football Club chairman Gerry Moran introduced the All-Ireland Féile winning team management: Jimmy Gavin, Joan Gavin, Eileen Broderick, Siobhan Lynsky, Elaine Goldrick, Rita Healy O’Leary, Mike Brennan, Daragh Leonard, Tim Hynes.

Con then presented the Awards to:
U12 Girls Manager: Assumpta Gallagher
U14 Lions Girls Manager: Jimmy Gavin
U14 Tigers Manager: Tim Hynes
U16 Manager: Marty Dowd

Jimmy Hughes, chairman of the Adult Football Committee presented the Awards to Phelim Manning, U14 Boys Manager and Special Recognition Awards to Mike Cullina and Mathew Kearney.

The members of the 1991 Minor team honoured were: Phillip Leahy, Joe O’Connell, Declan O’Brien, Declan Duggan, Kevin Moran, Pat Cullinane, Shane Walsh, Michael Kenny, Richard Kearney, Declan Madden, Kenneth Walsh, Micky Grealish, Martin Connell, Peter Fahy, Geoffrey Keating, Liam Hession, Ollie O’Connell, Michael Pinky Walsh,  Michael Hiker Walsh, Derek Long, Colin Fleming,  Frankie Connell, Gerry Murphy.

Lotto for February 14th: Three match three winners, John McGrath River Oaks, Jarlath Brennan Gregboy, Michelle Heffernan Cashla. The sellers prize went to Niall Nugent. Lotto numbers for February 21st were 9,11, 22, 28. Laura Shaughnessy Lydican, Yvonne Leahy Gortacleva, Mary O’Connell Cloonbigeen and Mary Ann Mullen Galway. The sellers prize went to the Mini Stores, Carnmore. The Jackpot now stands at €4900  and the next draw is in Egan’s Bar on February 28th.