Posted by in Sport.

Claregalway Ladies played Caltra Cuans in the Div 2 League Final on Sunday last 20th November in Mountbellew. This clash was eagerly awaited as it brought together the 2011 Connaught Junior and Intermediate Champions. Played in ideal conditions the teams were evenly matched but  the Claregalway Girls  were converting more of their chances and they opened up a 4 point lead 0-6 to 0-2 by the quarter hour mark. A strong finish to the first half saw Claregalway score goals through Siobhan Gavin and Michelle Dunleavy to lead at the break by 2-9 to 0-3. Despite Claregalway scoring first in the second half it was Caltra who were getting on top and they had the deficit down to 7 points with 15 minutes to play on a score 3-9 to 1-7. Claregalway continued to work hard and a goal and point in the 16th minute from Deirdre Brennan and Charlotte Cooney settled the Team and they pushed on with further points from Deirdre Brennan, Georgina Healy and Emmer O’Connell which left Claregalway clear winners 4-14 to 1-8. This was a great Team performance with every girl playing her part from debutant goalkeeper Deirdre Cullina to the hard working Aislinn Newell at corner forward. It was also great to see the lionhearted Orla Dixon make her return to action after a serious injury during the summer. After the game County Chairman Con Moynihan presented the Cup to Hannagh Coen Captain: Deirdre Cullina, Eimile Gavin, Helen Moran, Emer Joyce: Georgina Healy (0-2), Amy Rohan, Ruth Horkan, Fabienne Cooney, Ciara Newell, Tara Hession (0-2),, Deirdre Brennan (1-7), Siobhan Gavin (1-1): Michelle Dunleavy (1-0)  ,Charlotte Cooney (1-0) Aislinn Newell (0-1), Orla Dixon, Hannah Coen (Captain), Emer O’Connell (0-1), Lisa Kirwin, ,Katheryn Casserley,Louise Brennan, Sinead Harte,Siofra Leonard, Maria Moran ,Linda O’Connell,Lorraine Keane, Nicole Conlon, ,Lauren Murray,Jennifer Dowd, Ref Neil Moynihan:  Everyone at the Club sends goalkeeper Siobhan Cullen Best Wishes for her stay in New York and look forward to her returning to the Club at sometime in the future. Great credit goes to the Management of Barry Cooney, Mike Kirwan, Mick O’Connell, Gerry Moran Rita Healy, Ann Moran and Mary Conlon. Claregalway now play in the senior League and Intermediate Championship in 2012. The 2011 football season will come to an end for the Club next Sunday when the U-16’s play Kilkerrin-Clonberne in the Championship Final at 2:30 with venue TBC. Congratulations to our U14 Ladies who received their Team of the Year Award at the Galway Bay FM Sports Awards in the Raddison Blu Hotel at the Weekend.  A very enjoyable evening was had by all.  Well done to the U13 Ladies who are part of the U13 County Development Squad with training continuing for two more weeks.