Posted by Kieran Coyne in Sport.

The Intermediates crashed out of this year’s championship to Corofin last Saturday evening in a sun drenched Pearse Stadium on a scoreline of 1–10 to 0–12 to Corofin. In a game we controlled all along, we had our hearts broken at the death when substitute James Farragher scored a last second goal which proved to be the final act of the game.

One has the feeling that this game will haunt us for some time although it may prove to be a vital lesson to learn. The Intermediates now turn their attention to the League for the coming months.

The Juniors are inaction this weekend against local rivals Annaghdown in the North Board Championship Quarter Final with date, time and venue to be announced.

In the U16 Championship Division 1 Claregalway will play Glenamaddy/Glinsk in Glenamaddy on Tuesday August 19th at 7pm. All support will be appreciated.

Update 19th of August 2014

The Junior A side followed the Intermediates in exiting the championship when they were defeated by local rivals Annaghdown on Sunday in Tuam Stadium. Coming into this encounter missing many key individual players for a variety of reasons was not ideal and on the day came back to haunt us unfortunately.

Playing against a stiff breeze in the opening half, we actually began brightly and played with more control and composure than Annaghdown. The back six played as a real unit and provided the perfect platform for the midfield and the forwards.

At the break we led by a point—1–4 to 0–6. Fergal McEvoy and Ben Creaven registering our scores. The second half didn’t go according to plan as we seemed to lose our focus and only managed to score two points with the wind from Damo Dolan and a Ben Creaven free and ultimately that was our downfall.

All players that turned up played with real heart and on another day the result could have been different. We wish Annaghdown the best in their Semi Final. The Juniors have 1 league game left and if they win that they are in a league final.

Team: Rob Moran, Paul Fahy, Austin Sammon, Hubert Newell, Chris Carroll, Adrian Moran, Padraig Kearney, Harry Connolly, Darragh Glynn, Emmet Feeney, Fergal McEvoy, Andy Dolan, Ger Cheevers, David Morris, Ben Creaven. Subs: Liam Egan, Damo Dolan, Brian Loughlin, Niall Clarke, Alan Daly.