Posted by Turloughmore Hurling Club in Sport.

The committee, members and players of Turloughmore Hurling Club are deeply disappointed that the Galway Competitions Control Committee overturned the outcome of a group game after an investigation determined an ineligible player was used.

Defender Matthew Keating played in the United States during the summer having been granted an inter-county transfer. A stipulation of that type of transfer is that a player can’t feature in two different championships in the same year. He played in Turloughmore’s 1–19 to 0–16 group win over Beagh which secured a quarter-final place against Ardrahan. That game ended in a draw and with the Galway CCC overturning the outcome of the group game, Beagh are now scheduled to play Ardrahan in the remaining quarter-final next Sunday.

Regarding the unilateral decision to impose the sanction of forfeiture on Turloughmore Hurling Club—and furthermore to effectively remove Turloughmore from the Championship—Turloughmore Hurling Club has no option but to appeal, and its senior hurling panel will continue to train in anticipation of this decision being overturned and Turloughmore being restored to the county championship.

Turloughmore Hurling Club regret any inconvenience caused to other clubs still involved in the championship.

The U15A Hurling semi-final is on Saturday the 18th of October. Turloughmore vs Castlegar in Lackagh at 11am. Ref. Sean Moran.

The U12s beat Moycullen in a very well contested game in Lackagh, 1–6 to 1–4 on Sunday October 5th. Team: Darragh Walsh, Kian Cummins, Oisin Francis, Conor Fahy, Dan Conneely, Niall McCabe, Conor O’Brien, Eanna Kelly, Evan Farrell, Cathal Shaughnessy, Darren O’Brien, Sean O’Hanlon, Jonathan Reilly, Cian Shaughnessy, Evan Kelly. Subs: Hugh Crowley, Dillon Cowab, Conor Gill, Dillon Reilly.

Lotto results from October 2nd: 5, 12, 28, 32. No Jackpot winner. Two match-3 winners receive €100 each: Joan Costello, Grange; Loyola Molloy Conway; Seller’s Prize: Gerry Linnane. Next week’s Jackpot is €18,700.