Posted by in Sport.

FÉ 15

In a good game Claregalway beat Salthill by 2–10 to 2–5 in the City league at the Prairie. The next game against Mervue at the Leisure Centre ended in a draw and in the last round Claregalway had an easy win over Moycullen at Baile Doite. The league table for Group 1 is as follows:

Team P W D L Pts.
Claregalway 6 5 1 0 11
Barna 7 5 1 1 11
Ml. Breathnach 5 3 1 1 7
Mervue 7 3 1 3 7
Salthill 6 2 2 2 6
Killanin 7 3 0 4 6
Moycullen 6 1 0 5 2
Renmore 5 0 0 5 0

Claregalway have now qualified with Barna for the “A” semi-finals and are joined by the qualifiers from Group 2, Oranmore and St.Michaels. So the most difficult part of the league has yet to come; it’s a knock-out league cup from now on.

FÉ 13

Eire Óg 1–2
Claregalway 3–8

Claregalway 2–11
Ml.Breathnach 0–1

Claregalway started the City league with two easy wins over Eire Óg at Tirellin and Ml.Breathnach at the Leisure Centre. The feature of the game at Tirellin was the large turnout of players and the rule on unlimited substitutes was used to the full so that as many players as possible got a run in the green and gold. In a good team display against Ml.Breathnach, Colm James Connealy, Thomas Moran, Robert Raftery were most prominent in the backs; Gary Dillon and Martin Kelly were dominant in mid field while in the forwards Stephen Cunniffe, Barry Cullinane, Alan Greaney, Barry McGrath and Jason Murphy all scored good points. Michael Maguire and Gary Dillon scored the goals.

FÉ 10

A panel of 40, managed by John Feeney, Tony Clarke, Gerry Moran and Hugh Farrell and accompanied by some parents travelled by bus to Castlebar for the Inter-county Blitz tournament organised by Castlebar Mitchels. Claregalway played 4 games starting with a win over Kilmeena. They fielded a different team in the second match to give as many players as possible a game but lost to Balla. They then beat Ballinrobe to qualify for the B semi-final which they lost to Crossmolina. Teams from Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim, Galway as well as Mayo took part.

Co. Development Draw

The Juvenile Football Committee had a very good response to its ticket sales for the County Development Draw. The extent of the response qualified us to put up bonus prizes of £60 per 50 members of the Committee’s ticket holders. In recognition and appreciation of the support, the committee also put up a number of smaller prizes for the ticket holders. Club President, and ex-All Ireland star with the Down team of the Sixties, Patsy O’Hagan, officiated at the Draw held at the Club Centre. The winners were: £60 each—Martin Kirrane, Cregboy and Billy Joyce, Bawnmore; £30 each—Vincent Moran, Lakeview, Margaret Rush, Kilclooney, Milltown, and Frank Starken, 6 Retreat Heights, Athlone. Grateful thanks are conveyed to the purchasers of our tickets for their financial support. Seán Flanagan