Posted by in News.

On Saturday last (13th August) ClareRiver Harriers (CRH) AC held its 24th annual 10K (6.2 miles) road race on the roads near the Claregalway Corporate Park, Rock Road and Claregalway Leisure Centre.

The race was a tremendous success with well over 200 runners taking to the roads around Claregalway. This race also incorporated the Galway County AAl 10K Road championships for 2010.  In memory of the late Brendan Gavin of Loughgeorge, the Clare River Harriers Athletic Club is donating €5 from each entry to the Galway Hospice—totalling €1,200.

The 2011 overall winner was Matt Bidwell (GCH) in a time of 34 minutes and 58 seconds.  Paul Buckley (Ferbane AC) was second and Timmie Glavey (MAyo AC) was third. Helen Corbett (GCH) won the ladies race in a time of 41:40. Sinead Brody (Athenry AC) was second and Linda Brennan was third.