Posted by in Sport.

The Junior A’s had a resounding win over Killanin in the first round of the Championship at Inverin on Saturday, July 19th last. The score was 3–8 to 1–6.

Junior B’s however were unable to complete the double and lost to Oughterard also at Inverin.

Minors: After beating Ml. Breathnach in the league final, expectations of a win in the Championship renewal were dashed by the same opposition who beat us convincingly by 1–13 to 0–6.

U14s defeated Mervue in a play-off for the league and went on to give a fine display when beating Spiddal at the Leisure Centre. In the semi-final they drew with Oranmore with a strong rally in an exciting finish. They lost the replay and Oranmore went on to beat Salthill in the final.

Ted Webb Inter-county cup: Enda O’Connell, Nicholas Fox, Anthony Davoren played for Galway City against Clare, Roscommon and Mayo; Paul Kilgannon was a sub.

Co. Development Draw: Ticket sales are being promoted by the club for the purpose of raising funds to finance the club’s activities as well as putting purchasers in line for free holidays, cars and £1000s of cash prizes. Tickets for the six monthly draws are £60 each and half the income goes to the club. Tickets from Tom Newell (Tel: 798650), P.J. McGovern (Tel:755536), Tony Stephens (Tel:798217).

The Claregalway U12 football team played Fr. Griffins at Moneenageisha. They played Tuam Stars at the Leisure Centre on Sunday, July 20th and won. We convey best wishes to Rory Dillon for a quick recovery and we look forward to having him back in action before too long.

Team: Simon Starken, Gary Giles, Gerard Kirrane, Trevor Casserly, Paddy Moran, Brian McKiernan, Stephen Jordan, Seán Moran, Gerard Moran, Dara Lambert McMichael, Terence Cunniffe, Gerry Giles, Brian McGrath, Con Butler, Anthony Noone, Niall Gibbons, Michael O’Connor, Keith McDonagh, Tomás Noone, Brian Stephens, Seán Foy, Philip Raftery, Ronan Mangan, Anthony Hughes, Paul Laughlin, Kevin Kitt, Rory Dillon.

U12 Co. Football League—Division 1 Fixtures:
Sunday, Sept. 7th Moycullen V Claregalway (Moycullen)
Sunday, Sept. 14th Claregalway V Oranmore (Leisure Centre)
Sunday, Sept. 21st St. Michael’s V Claregalway (Westside)
Sunday, Sept. 28th Claregalway V Salthill (Leisure Centre)
Sunday, Oct 5th Mervue V Claregalway (Mervue)

All games at 11am

Seán O’Flannagáin, P.R.O.