Posted by in Sport.

The County Féile took place on Saturday 26th March with six teams competing. Group A which included Salthill Knocknacarra, Annaghdown and Tuam Cortoon played their group matches in Annaghdown and Group B teams; Corofin, Claregalway and Kilkerrin Clonberne were hosted in Belclare. In Belclare, Corofin started out strong with a good win over Kilkerrin/Clonberne. The second group game was Corofin against Claregalway where the Corofin Girls kept up their great form and had a deserved win 3-1 to 1-4 over the Feile Title holders. From now on, the Claregalway girls had to win all their games. They played Kilkerrin Clonberne in the final game and managed to leave them scoreless with a final score of 1-9 to 0.0. As runner ups in Group B, Claregalway met the Winners of Group A, Salthill Knocknacarra in the Semi Final in Belclare at 3.30pm while Corofin played Annaghdown in the second semi final.

It was a much more determined Claregalway side who took on Salthill/Knocknacarra in the semi final winning strongly on a scoreline of 5-7 to 0-2. In the other semi final, Corofin beat Annaghdown 4-1 to 0-3. This meant that Claregalway were going to meet their rivals Corofin once again in the Feile County Final. After a short break, both teams came out with a point to prove and an intensity which started from throw in. Claregalway won first possession and scored an excellent point from play in the early minutes to open the scores. They went on to score 5 more points finishing the 1st half 0-6 to 0-0. Not taking this lead for granted, the 2nd half began with the same intensity with Corofin scoring a goal which brought them back to within 3 points. Claregalway however, continued to battle hard scoring a further 3 points and with the ball finding the back of the Corofin net, the Claregalway Girls sealed a great victory.

The final score was 1-9 to 1-0. Chairman of the Ladies County Board, Con Moynihan presented the Shield to winning Claregalway Captain, Orla Murphy.

Panel: Natasha Hynes, (Vice Capt), Samantha Burke, Karen Dowd, Ellie Glynn, Karen Healy, Lauren Coen, Megan Glynn, Emma Connolly, Shauna King, Roisin Holland, Orla Murphy (Capt), Stephanie O Connell, Ciara Campbell, Ciara Burke, Rebecca Hansberry, Keeva Gallagher, Laurie Moran, Michelle Coyle, Laura Field, Roisin Conlon, Catriona Moran, Chloe Donnellan, Eva Gilmore, Leah Flemming, Morgen Conroy Broderick, Moya Dunleavy, Catherine Walsh, Aisling Murphy, Ellen Connolly, Sky Nash, Claregalway now represent their County in the National Feile Finals for the third year running which is a brilliant achievement. Many thanks to Referees, Catriona Kyne, Michael Lynott and Frank Kineen and Maura Burke for doing Umpire for the Final. Thanks also to Annaghdown who hosted the Group A Matches and Belclare and Corofin Ladies Club for hosting the Group B Matches and Finals. Well done to all the management and mentors; Jimmy Gavin, Joan Gavin, Joe Glynn, Asumpta Gallagher, Mike O’ Connell, Tim Hynes, Darragh Leonard and Elaine Goldrick (First Aid) and Eileen Conroy.

Pictured L-R
Back Row: Jimmy Gavin, Darragh Leonard, Asumpta Gallagher, Leah Flemming, Rebecca Hansberry, Sky Nash, Ellen Connollly, Megan Glynn, Ciara Burke, Roisin Holland, Karen Dowd, Michelle Coyle, Karen Healy, Samantha Burke, Ellie Glynn, Ciara Campbell, Morgen Conroy Broderick, Catherine Walsh, Roisin Conlon, Emma Connolly, Joan Gavin, Elaine Goldrick, Joe Glynn.

Front Row: Michael O Connell, Lorna Mullally, Moya Dunleavy, Eva Gilmore, Aisling Murphy, Laura Field, Orla Murphy (C), Natasha Hynes, Stephanie O Connell, Lauren Coen, Chloe Donnellan, Deirdre Keane, Shauna King, Laurie Moran, Keeva Gallagher, Catriona Moran