Posted by in Sport.

Junior A Football Championship:  Claregalway 1-10   Mountbellew/Moylough  1-10

Claregalway Junior A’s staged an exciting last minute rally to retrieve a four point deficit by scoring 1-1 before the final whistle to force a draw in their North Board Championship Group B game againt Mountbellew/Moylough at a sunny Tuam Stadium on Saturday last.  A last minute free was converted by Fergal McEvoy and when Claregalway attacked in time added on, Brian Day won possession on the 12 metre line to the right of the posts. His shot for goal was brilliantly parried out by the goalie but Dara Glynn was in the right place to pounce and volley first time to the net. 

First half points by Matt Moran, Fergal McEvoy (3), Eoin Feeney and Enda O’Connell gave Claregalway a two point lead at half-time, 0-6 to 0-4. Two points, one from Fergal McEvoy and a neat left footer from Michael Noonan in response to one from Mountbellew/Moylough gave Claregalway a three point lead ten minutes into the second half, 0-8 to 0-5.  Mountbellew/Moylough then hit a spell of dominance and drew level at 0-8 before Colm O’Hagan lifted the siege with a great run deep into the opposition half and drew a free which Enda O’Connell converted to restore the lead for Claregalway. But another point from Mountbellew/Moylough levelled the scores again five minutes from time up. Mountbellew/Moylough renewed their pressure and crashed home a goal and added a point to control the game with full time looming. But Claregalway dug deep and found the belief to set up a dramatic finish as described.

The work rate of all the team was impressive throughout and they defended well under a lot of pressure mid-way through the second half when the scores were level on two occasions. Claregalway deserve another day out as it was only five minutes from the end that they fell into arrears for the first time when Mountbellew scored their goal. Brian Day’s display and Michael Noonan’s runs when taking on the opposition deserve special mention. The real losers of this exciting game were the fans who stayed away.

Team: Eoin Clarke, Diarmuid Gavin, Colm Brennan, Michael Brennan, Hubert Newell, Eoin Feeney (0-1), Colm O’Hagan, Brian Day, Mark O’Sullivan, Mathew Moran (0-1), Fergal McEvoy(0-5, three frees), David Hansberry, Dara Glynn (1-0), Enda O’Connell (0-2, one free), Michael Noonan (0-1). Subs. used: Gary Hurney.

Senior Football League Division 1B:

Claregalway Seniors were understrenght for their League game against St. James in Claregalway on Friday last and lost by 0-16 to 0-10.


Lotto numbers this week were:  5  13  17  19.  Match three winners were Michael Murphy Liscanninane, Kieran Flanagan c/o Sean Dunleavy, Tony McHugh Biggera.   The sellers prize went to Tony King. The jackpot is now €2860 and the next draw is in the Claregalway Hotel.